In 1882 five members of the Society of the Sacred Heart, arrived in Sydney on board the SS Orient. They were Rev Mother Fébronie Vercruysse rscj, Mother Rose Dunne rscj, Mother Alice Woodward rscj, Mother Mary Jackson rscj and Sister Sarah Simpson rscj. On Friday, June 23, 1882 the Five Foundresses arrived at Claremont,  Rose Bay, where they established the first Convent in Australia. On July 20, 1882, the rentrée – the ‘beginning of the school year’ – brought the first five students. In 1909, a school was established at Elizabeth Bay, known as Kincoppal. In 1971, the two schools amalgamated to become Kincoppal-Rose Bay, School of the Sacred Heart. Today it is a co-educational school from Early Learning to Year 6, and Day/Boarding School for girls from Year 7 to Year 12. In 1888, the Sisters of the Society of the Sacred Heart founded Sacré Coeur in Melbourne, followed by Stuartholme in Brisbane in 1920.